## **EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL**

# Virtual Meeting held on Thursday, 22nd October, 2020 at 11.00 am

Present: Councillor Andy Meakin in the Chair;

Councillors Chris Baron, Kier Barsby,

Jim Blagden, Ciaran Brown, Melanie Darrington,

Samantha Deakin, Andy Gascoyne,

Dale Grounds, Arnie Hankin, David Hennigan, Tom Hollis, Trevor Locke, Rachel Madden, Sarah Madigan, David Martin, Lauren Mitchell, Keir Morrison, Warren Nuttall, Matthew Relf, Kevin Rostance, Phil Rostance, Dave Shaw,

John Smallridge, Helen-Ann Smith,

David Walters, Lee Waters, Caroline Wilkinson,

Daniel Williamson, John Wilmott and

Jason Zadrozny.

Apologies for Absence: Councillors John Baird, Christian Chapman and

Andrew Harding.

Officers Present: Lynn Cain, Carol Cooper-Smith, Ruth Dennis,

Katherine Green, Peter Hudson, Paul Parkinson,

Mike Joy, Andy Slate and Shane Wright.

# C.55 <u>Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary or Personal Interests</u> and Non Disclosable Pecuniary/Other Interests

No declarations of interest were made.

## C.56 Nomination for Honorary Alderman: Ramon Buttery

#### **RESOLVED**

that in honour of services rendered eminent to the Council and having significantly contributed to the people represented, Ramon Buttery be duly appointed as an Honorary Alderman to the Council.

Due to ongoing Covid-19 restrictions and the meeting being held via virtual means, a short video was played to Members showing former Councillor Ramon Buttery accepting the appointment and giving a short speech of appreciation to the Council.

(Following the appointment of Alderman Buttery, Councillor Kevin Rostance left the meeting at 11.20am.)

## C.57 Nomination for Honorary Alderwoman: Glenys Maxwell

## **RESOLVED**

that in honour of services rendered eminent to the Council and having significantly contributed to the people represented, Glenys Maxwell be duly appointed as an Honorary Alderwoman to the Council.

Due to ongoing Covid-19 restrictions and the meeting being held via virtual means, a short video was played to Members showing former Councillor Glenys Maxwell accepting the appointment and giving a short speech of appreciation to the Council.

# C.58 Nomination for Honorary Alderman: George Watson

Former Councillor George Watson turned down his nomination for the honorary position of Alderman of Ashfield District Council but in doing so, passed on his thanks for initially being selected for consideration.

## C.59 Minute's Silence

The Leader of the Council spoke about the recent passing of former Councillors Elizabeth Mays and Peter Thorpe and a minute's silence was duly held as a mark of respect.

The meeting c	losed	at 1	11.45	am

Chairman.